Yoga Sutras

The Yoga Sūtra of Patañjali is a collection of 195 Sanskrit sutras (aphorisms) on the theory and practice of yoga. The Yoga Sutra was compiled sometime between 500 BCE and 400 CE by the sage Patanjali पतञ्जलि in India who synthesized and organized knowledge about yoga from much older traditions.

योगश्चित्तवृत्तिनिरोधः ॥२॥
yogaś citta-vṛtti-nirodhaḥ— Yoga Sutras 1.2

Samadhi Pada

On being absorbed in spirit

51 Sutras

1.1 atha yoganusasanam

Now, therefore, complete instructions on Yoga

1.2 yogaschitta vrtti nirodah

To block the patterns of consciousness is Yoga

1.3 tada drastuh svarupe’vasthanam

Then the Seer is established in his own essential nature

1.4 vrrti sarupyamitaratra

Or there is identification with the modifications of citta

1.5 vrrtayah pancatayyah klistaklistah

Modifications of mind are fivefold; they are painful or not painful

1.6 pramana-viparyaya-vikalpa-nidra-smrtayah

The fivefold modifications are right knowledge, wrong knowledge, imagination, sleep and memory

1.7 pratyaksanumanagamah pramanani

Direct cognition, inference and testimony are the sources of knowledge

1.8 viparyayo mithyajnanamatudrupapratistham

Wrong conception is false knowledge which is not based on its own form

1.9 sabdajnananupati vastu-sunyo vikalpah

Following upon knowledge through words but empty of an object is fancy

Sadhana Pada

On being immersed in spirit

55 Sutras

Vibhuti Pada

On supernatural abilities and gifts

56 Sutras

Kaivalya Pada

On absolute freedom

34 Sutras